Top 5 Wednesday: Books Everyone Should Read Once

Top 5 Wednesday

This blogging prompt is hosted by the Goodreads Top 5 Wednesday group


Today’s T5W prompt is Books Everyone Should Read Once

It doesn’t matter if someone is an avid reader or a casual reader, every person has that book or series they adamantly feel every person should read once in their lifetime. For today’s prompt, here are the books I feel are a must-read at least once!

Karamazov

1. The Brothers Karamazov

Fyodor Dostoevsky – Philosophical Fiction

I know, I know, this is a BIG BOY. But it’s so worth it. If you can dive into the philosophical ideas of free will, individuation vs. collectivism, and human existence in general… Your worldview will be so much more expanded.

Restoring

2. Restoring the Kinship Worldview: Indigenous Voices Introduce 28 Precepts for Rebalancing Life on Planet Earth

Wahinkpe Topa (Four Arrows) and Darcia Narvaez – Nonfiction, Philosophy, Environment, Spiritual

I guess I’m continuing on the philosophical route… But this book is also at the very top of my must-read pile. Again, it simply opens up your worldview and allows you to see the important things from a perspective that you may otherwise have no familiarity with. Highly inspiring and informative.

Smart Girl's Guide

3. The Smart Girl’s Guide to Polyamory: Everything You Need to Know About Open Relationships, Non-Monogamy, and Alternative Love

Dedeker Winston – Nonfiction, Sexuality, Relationship

Yep, I’m going all-in on this one, y’all. Even if you’re not nonmonogamous (in fact, especially if you’re not nonmonogamous), you should definitely read this book. If you’re like me, I had never even known alternate relationship structures were possible, but this book not only helped me to understand those, but as well as understand me as a human. Because we’re all in multi-relationships… We’re all in a relationship with ourselves, first.

LOTR

4. The Lord of the Rings Series

JRR Tolkien – Fantasy

I mean, how could I not? I will admit that this took me until I was 29 to actually read the series, but it was definitely worth it. Tolkien has a very specific style, and the movies just do not quite grasp everything that he created. If anyone is interested in fantasy or escapism, this is a series to read, even if you’ve already seen the movies!

Handmaid's

5. The Handmaid’s Tale

Margaret Atwood – Dystopian Science Fiction

Especially in our current age, this is a must-read. For everyone. Don’t count on watching the show–just read this book. It is scary and makes you uncomfortable… And it needs to. That’s all I have to say.


What are some of your Must-Reads?

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books Everyone Should Read Once

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started