March Wrap-Up!

march-icegif

Let’s keep it goinggggggg! I had some high-rollers this month! See my stats:


Books Read:

I Survived Capitalism and All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt

Version 1.0.0

5 Star Review. I’ve followed Madeline Pendleton on TikTok (@madeline_pendleton) for quite a while, and I admire how she runs her company, Tunnel Vision, as well as agree with many of her takes on the American Capitalist society that we find ourselves in. I thought I might as well check out her book, and I ended up learning some very helpful tips that I can use while adulting!

Tell Me How It Ends

Tell Me

2.5 Star Review. This book is up for #IndieInkAwards and has a great premise, where a tarot reader is working for her mother at a gambling house when a stranger pops up and offers her an adventure. I loved the idea of the book, but I think the writing was just not for me, as it reads almost like a middle-grade fantasy. I did LOVE that it features LGBTQ+, disabled, neurodivergent, cultural, and mental health representation!

Frankenstein

Frankenstein

5 Star Review. This was my second time reading Shelley’s Frankenstein, the first being as a student in high school. Great look into what kind of responsibilities we have regarding science, especially with all the AI stuff coming out now. Just because we can doesn’t necessarily mean we should. 

The Outsiders

Outsiders

5 Star Review. Did y’all know S.E. Hinton wrote this when she was a teenager? I sure didn’t! And dang. My mind was blown. I knew this was considered a “classic,” so I went into it with low expectations (classics are great literature, but not great entertainment for me usually), but I honesty could not put this down. The characters were so real!

Pride and Prejudice

Pride

5 Star Review. So, I’ve tried to read this book like four other times and only got about 30 pages in before DNFing. It was super boring. BUT, I just read this again, and it’s like a whole new book. The dad in the first few chapters has me cracking up and the love story between Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy has got me positively swooning! I’m not sure what changed, but I absolutely loved this book this time around.

Azygos

Azygos

4.5 Star Review. A slightly spicy vampire novella, and it is fast-paced. Short and not-so-sweet, this is a great read if you’re looking for something to tickle that thriller-seeker in you. The first in a series, this can also be read as a complete standalone, which is nice if you don’t want much commitment.

Wild Flowers, Electric Beasts

wild flowers

4 Star Review. Here’s another up for #IndieInkAwards! A dual-POV tech-sci-fi mixed with the natural world creates a unique experience as you read. The asexual and gender spectrum representation is amazing and everyone is so considerate of everyone’s pronouns and potential touch aversions/consent. It’s a great read if you can handle a bit of a slow plot as it builds into a major climax near the end. Think Avatar – yes, the blue people one.

But Everyone Feels This Way: How An Autism Diagnosis Saved My Life

Autism

4 Star Review. This is a memoir of TikTok influencer Paige Layle, who was diagnosed with autism (among other things) when she was fifteen years old. It explores the difficulties that she experienced growing up before she was diagnosed, as well as after the fact. There are some tidbits of general autism knowledge sprinkled around, but that is not the main focus of the book. Unfortunately, I think that is what I really wanted, rather than hearing her whole life story of 23 years, but it is what it is! It was still quite interesting and well written.


Books to Read in March:

  1. Re-Read Eye of the World by Robert Jordan (WoT #1)
  2. Continue From the River to the Sea: Essays for a Free Palestine edited by Sai Englert, Michal Schatz, and Rosie Warren
  3. Continue Beloved by Toni Morrison

Let me know in the comments if you are reading (or have already read) any of these as well!


Other Posts:

Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesday

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started